Predators of the Red Panda

The red panda is like many other animals a potential prey for those with whom it shares its habitat. It should be noted that predation is not a cause of extinction, but one of the rules that govern an ecosystem. Indeed, predators feed and populations that are prey are regulated! 

Some of the natural predators of the red panda include:

Clouded leopard (Neofelis nebulosa)

IUCN Status: Vulnerable

Class: Mammals

Order: Carnivora

Family: Felidae

Size: 50 to 60 cm at withers

Length: up to 2 m depending on the adult individuals (80-90 cm for the tail)

Weight: between 18 and 23 kg at adult size

Particularity: This is the cat with the largest canines from a point of view proportional to its size.

Diet: rodents, monkeys, birds, pangolins, small deer.

Longevity: Estimated at 11 years in the wild (data not yet important enough for a reliable figure), between 13 and 15 years in captivity (record being 19 years!)

Geographic range: Continental South East Asia to Nepal and much of southern China.

Status: A species classified in Appendix 1 of CITES and therefore prohibited trade in animals or in parts. Less than 10,000 wild individuals, classified as vulnerable by IUCN

Threats: Habitat fragmentation due to deforestation, poaching of adult mothers to turn young into pets, and poaching for local cultures (owning a fur is a social status mark in some countries – especially in Taiwan where it has completely disappeared – the organs replace those of the tiger in traditional Chinese medicine where they are openly sold)

Captivity: Since 1973, the species benefits from a worldwide breeding plan managed by the World Association of Zoos and Aquaria (WAZA). The aim was to develop a growing captive population so that wild individuals would no longer be harvested. Unfortunately it is a very difficult species to reproduce in zoological parks, and most of the captive individuals were in the United States. It was therefore necessary in 2011, faced with an aging population, to bring captive individuals from Asia to restore a reproductive boom to the species and develop the program towards Europe. Since then, some pairs are prolific, which gives a hope of conservation for the species, for possible reintroductions in areas where it has disappeared, if the environment is secure and stable for the future of the individuals.

There is a very strong partnership between the zoological parks around the world that host this species, which led to the creation of the CLOUDED LEOPARD PROJECT. Thus, each of them must have crucial objectives: to promote the maximum welfare of the animals, to offer a food respecting the diet of the species, to continue scientific studies because still too rare among wild populations, and above all to encourage reproduction in order to sustain the future of the species in the long term (forecasts over a minimum of 100 years) thanks to breeding programs.

The Indian leopard (Panthera pardus fusca)

IUCN Status: : Vulnerable

Class: Mammals

Order: Carnivora

Family: Felidae

Size: Varies between 45 and 78 cm at withers

Length: up to 1.60 m (tail length 55-90 cm)

Weight: 58 kg for the male, 37 kg for the female (even up to 80 kg for individuals living in areas where there are no tigers, because the prey is more abundant!)

Diet: small animals, deer, monkeys. In urban areas, pets and livestock account for 25% of its food, and sometimes even dogs and children unattended.

Longevity: 12 to 15 years in the wild, up to 23 years in captivity (with a record of 26 years!)

Geographic range India, Nepal, Bangladesh

Status: Classified as Vulnerable by IUCN since 2016, population of approximately 15,000 wild individuals but increasing. CITES Appendix 1.

Threats: Poaching for fur and traditional Asian medicine, conflicts with breeders, scarcity of prey.

Captivity: Since the beginning of the era of the menageries, the panthers were not studied at all and many crosses between subspecies were carried out. Fortunately, thanks to scientific research and the involvement of zoological parks in this field since the early 1960s – 1970, 9 subspecies are now identified, while others have unfortunately disappeared since, described by explorers or scientists of the time.

Each is divided into natural areas between Africa and Asia, and since the creation of breeding programs for the most threatened among them (such as the Amur leopard or the Java leopard) no hybridization is tolerated in order to keep genetically reliable populations in captivity.

The only reintroduction program currently underway for one of these subspecies is the Amur Leopard in Eastern Siberia, as it is classified as a critically endangered species (only 50 individuals listed in 2016). Orchestrated by the AMUR LEOPARD CONSERVATION TRUST, the TIGRIS program and the NGO WILDCATS CONSERVATION ALLIANCE, and evidently supported by numerous institutions, some captive individuals born in zoological parks of the United States, Canada, Russia, and even a male born in France, will discover day-life on the spot so that their descendants are reintroduced into nature.

Many zoological parks support associations and NGOs of field for the protection of other subspecies of panthers that do not yet benefit from reintroduction programs, the Human/Animal conflict being still too important in their environments of life.

Snow leopard (panthera uncia)

IUCN Status: Vulnerable

P1050888.JPG

Class: Mammals

Order: Carnivora

Family: Felidae

Size : 60 cm at withers

Length : up to 2.30 m depending on the adult individuals (0.90 cm to 1.10 m for the tail)

Weight : between 40 and 55 kg

Diet : Especially high mountain herbivores, including goats (bharals, takins, mouflons, markhors, etc.), occasionally small mammals and birds, many plants such as herbs and twigs (proportionally to other felines).

It is only an occasional predator of the red panda, because it lives in very steep and rugged terrain of high mountains (up to 6000 m of altitude), favoring open areas for a better visibility for predation purposes, so almost no big tree.

Longevity : About 15 years in the wild, about 20 years in captivity.

Geographic range : Much of Central Asia, from Russia to Nepal and Bhutan, from Pakistan to China.

Status : Species classified in Appendix 1 of the CITES, therefore trade prohibited animals or parts.

Estimated populations between 4500 and 9000 wild individuals, species classified as vulnerable by IUCN since 2017 (previously endangered)

Threats : The extension of livestock grazing areas limits the range of its prey, which also makes them rarer. The snow leopard thus willingly attacks cattle, so the breeders hunt it in retaliation. Moreover, marmots and other rodents that it feeds on are often poisoned because they are considered pest. It is also poached for its fur and for traditional Chinese medicine.

Captivity : The first individuals to be observed in captivity date back to the late 1800s. The earliest births occurred around 1910. As the species reproduces quite well, the first breeding programmes began around 1970, which greatly increased the populations, so genetically speaking that the Russian zoological parks, Japanese, Australian and Indian programs began in the late 1980s. As a result, no wild individuals would be taken from the wild.

At the moment, there have been so many births that some breeding programs recommend not to reproduce certain couples, because they are too genetically represented! A simple contraceptive implant is necessary to not sterilize individuals in case of potential reintroduction.

In order to rapidly advance the possibilities of reintroduction, almost all the zoological parks hosting the species financially support the SNOW LEOPARD TRUST, which studies and develops conservation programs with wild snow leopards. One of the priority actions carried out: The association finances secure enclosures for livestock, if the breeders commit to no more killing leopards, and not poisoning the local wildlife considered pest.

Yellow-throated marten(martes flavigula))

IUCN Status: Least concern

martre-a-gorge-jaune-1.jpg

Class: Mammals

Order: Carnivora

Family : Mustelidae

Size / Weight : can be more than one metre long (head to tail), and weigh up to 3.5 kg

Longevity : 10 to 15 years

Diet : This little-known animal is rather omnivorous. Marten eat small animals as well as nuts or fruits. However, it can also hunt larger animals such as young cervids in groups. The red panda is not a usual prey but the marten is opportunistic. It can hunt young red pandas if the opportunity arises.

It is found in a wide variety of habitats, from the Himalayan zone in southern Indonesia to the northern Korean peninsula. It mainly inhabits the forests.

Les prédateurs du Panda Roux

Le panda roux est comme bien d’autres animaux une proie potentielle pour ceux avec qui il partage son habitat. À noter que la prédation n’est pas une cause de disparition, mais une des règles qui régit un écosystème. En effet, les prédateurs se nourrissent et les populations qui sont des proies sont régulées ! 

Voici quelques-uns des prédateurs naturels du petit panda :

La panthère nébuleuse (Neofelis nebulosa)

Statut UICN : « Vulnérable »

Classe : Mammifères

Ordre : Carnivores

Famille : Félidés

Taille : 50 à 60 cm au garrot

Longueur : jusqu’à 2 m suivant les individus adultes (80 à 90 cm pour la queue)

Poids : entre 18 et 23 kg à taille adulte

Particularité : Il s’agit du félin possédant les plus grandes canines d’un point de vue proportionnel à sa taille.

Alimentation : rongeurs, singes, oiseaux, pangolins, petits cervidés.

Longévité : Estimée à 11 ans dans la nature (données pas encore assez importantes pour un chiffre fiable), entre 13 et 15 ans en captivité (le record étant de 19 ans !)

Répartition géographique : Asie du Sud Est continentale, jusqu’au Népal et une grande partie du Sud de la Chine.

Statut : Espèce classée en annexe 1 de la CITES, donc commerce interdit des animaux ou en parties. Moins de 10 000 individus sauvages, espèce classée comme vulnérable par l’UICN

Menaces : Morcellement de l’habitat à cause de la déforestation, braconnage des mères adultes pour que les jeunes deviennent des animaux de compagnie, et braconnage pour les cultures locales (posséder une fourrure est une marque de statut social dans certains pays – notamment à Taïwan où elle a complètement disparu – les organes remplacent ceux du tigre dans la médecine traditionnelle chinoise où ils sont ouvertement vendus)

Captivité : Dès 1973, l’espèce bénéficie d’un plan de reproduction mondial géré par l’Association Internationale des Zoos et Aquariums (WAZA). L’objectif était de développer une population croissante en captivité afin de ne plus prélever d’individus sauvages. Malheureusement c’est une espèce très difficile à reproduire dans les parcs zoologiques, et la majeure partie des individus captifs se trouvaient aux Etats Unis. Il fallut donc en 2011, face à une population vieillissante, faire venir des individus captifs d’Asie pour redonner un essor reproductif à l’espèce et développer le programme vers l’Europe. Depuis, certains couples sont prolifiques ce qui redonne un espoir de conservation pour l’espèce, pour d’éventuelles réintroductions dans des zones où elle a disparu, si le milieu est sécurisé et stable pour l’avenir des individus.

Il existe un partenariat très fort entre les parcs zoologiques à travers le monde qui accueillent cette espèce, ce qui a valu la création du CLOUDED LEOPARD PROJECT. Ainsi, chacun d’entre eux se doit de tenir des objectifs cruciaux : favoriser au maximum le bien être des animaux, proposer une alimentation respectant le régime de l’espèce, continuer les études scientifiques car encore trop rare auprès des populations sauvages, et surtout de favoriser la reproduction pour pérenniser l’avenir de l’espèce sur du long terme (prévisions sur 100 ans minimum) grâce aux programmes d’élevage.

La panthère indienne (Panthera pardus fusca)

Statut IUCN : “Vulnérable”

Classe : Mammifères

Ordre : Carnivores

Famille : Félidés

Taille : Varie entre 45 et 78 cm au garrot

Longueur : jusqu’à 1,60 m (queue de 55 à 90 cm)

Poids : 58 kg pour le mâle, 37 kg pour la femelle (même jusqu’à 80 kg pour les individus vivant dans les régions où il n’y a pas de tigres, car les proies sont plus abondantes !)

Alimentation : petits animaux, cervidés, singes. En milieu urbain, les animaux domestiques et le bétail représentent 25 % de son alimentation, et parfois même des chiens et des enfants sans surveillance.

Longévité : 12 à 15 ans dans la nature, jusqu’à 23 ans en captivité (avec un record de 26 ans !)

Répartition géographique : Inde, Népal, Bangladesh

Statut : Classée Vulnérable par l’UICN depuis 2016, population d’environ 15 000 individus sauvages mais en hausse. En annexe 1 de la CITES.

Menaces : Braconnage pour sa fourrure et la médecine traditionnelle asiatique, conflits avec les éleveurs, raréfaction des proies.

Captivité : Depuis le début de l’ère des ménageries, les panthères n’étaient pas du tout étudiées et de nombreux croisements entre sous-espèces s’effectuaient. Heureusement, grâce à la recherche scientifique et à l’implication des parcs zoologiques dans ce domaine depuis le début des années 1960 – 1970, ce sont 9 sous-espèces qui sont à présent identifiées, tandis que d’autres ont malheureusement disparu depuis, bien que décrites par des explorateurs ou scientifiques de l’époque.

Chacune se répartit des aires naturelles entre l’Afrique et l’Asie, et depuis la création des programmes d’élevage pour les plus menacées d’entre elles (comme la panthère de l’Amour ou la panthècre de Java) aucune hybridation n’est tolérée afin de pouvoir garder des populations génétiquement fiables en captivité.

Le seul programme de réintroduction en cours pour l’une de ces sous-espèces se porte auprès de la panthère de l’Amour, en Sibérie Orientale, car classée espèce en danger critique d’extinction (seulement 50 individus répertoriés en 2016). Orchestré par l’AMUR LEOPARD CONSERVATION TRUST, le programme TIGRIS et l’ONG WILDCATS CONSERVATION ALLIANCE, et évidemment soutenu par de nombreuses institutions, certains individus captifs nés en parcs zoologiques des Etats Unis, du Canada, de Russie, et même un mâle né en France, découvriront la vie en semi-liberté sur place pour que leurs descendants soient réintroduits dans la nature.

De nombreux parcs zoologiques soutiennent des associations et ONG de terrains pour la protection des autres sous-espèces de panthères qui ne bénéficient pas encore de programmes de réintroduction, le conflit Humains/Animaux étant encore trop importants dans leurs milieux de vie.

La panthère des neiges (panthera uncia)

Statut UICN : « Vulnérable »

P1050888.JPG

Classe : Mammifères

Ordre : Carnivores

Famille : Félidés

Taille : 60 cm au garrot

Longueur : jusqu’à 2,30 m suivant les individus adultes (0,90 cm à 1,10 m pour la queue)

Poids : entre 40 et 55 kg

Alimentation : Surtout les herbivores de haute montagne, notamment les caprins (bharals, takins, mouflons, markhors, etc), occasionnellement des petits mammifères et des oiseaux, beaucoup de végétaux tels que des herbes et brindilles (proportionnellement aux autres félins).

Elle n’est qu’un prédateur occasionnel du panda roux, car elle vit dans des terrains très escarpés et accidentés de haute montagne (jusqu’à 6000 m d’altitude), favorisant des aires dégagées pour une meilleure visibilité à des fins de prédation, donc quasiment aucun grand arbre.

Longévité : Environ 15 ans dans la nature, une vingtaine d’année en captivité.

Répartition géographique : Une grande partie de l’Asie Centrale, de la Russie au Népal et au Bhoutan, du Pakistan à la Chine.

Statut : Espèce classée en annexe 1 de la CITES, donc commerce interdit des animaux ou en parties.

Populations estimées entre 4500 et 9000 individus sauvages, espèce classée comme vulnérable par l’UICN depuis 2017 (auparavant en danger d’extinction)

Menaces : L’extension des aires de pâturage du bétail limite l’aire de répartition de ses proies qui les rendent elles aussi plus rares. La panthère des neiges s’attaque donc volontiers au bétail, les éleveurs la chassant donc en guise de représailles. De plus, les marmottes et autres rongeurs dont elle se nourrit sont souvent empoisonnés car considérés comme nuisible. Elle est braconnée aussi pour sa fourrure et pour la médecine traditionnelle chinoise.

Captivité : Les premiers individus à avoir été observés en captivité remontent à la fin des années 1800. Les toutes premières naissances ont eu lieu vers 1910. L’espèce se reproduisant assez bien, les premiers programmes d’élevage ont débuté vers 1970, ce qui a largement accru les populations, tellement bien génétiquement parlant que les parcs zoologiques russes, japonais, australiens et indiens ont débuté leurs propres programmes vers la fin des années 1980. Dès lors, plus aucun individu sauvage ne serait prélevé dans la nature.

A l’heure actuelle, il y a tellement eu de naissances que certains programmes d’élevages préconisent de ne plus reproduire certains couples, car génétiquement trop représentés ! Un simple implant contraceptif est nécessaire pour ne pas stériliser les individus en cas de réintroduction potentielle.

Afin de faire avancer rapidement les possibilités de réintroduction, la quasi-totalité des parcs zoologiques accueillant l’espèce soutient financièrement le SNOW LEOPARD TRUST, qui étudie et développe des programmes de conservation auprès des panthères des neiges sauvages. Une des actions prioritairement menées : L’association finance des enclos sécurisés pour le bétail, si les éleveurs s’engagent à ne plus tuer de panthères, et ne pas empoisonner la faune locale considérée comme nuisible.

La martre à gorge jaune (martes flavigula)

Statut UICN : « Préoccupation mineure »

martre-a-gorge-jaune-1.jpg

Classe : Mammifères

Ordre : Carnivores

Famille : Mustélidés

Taille / poids : peut mesurer plus d’un mètre de long (de la tête à la queue), et peser jusqu’à 3,5 kg

Longévité : 10 à 15 ans

Cet animal peu connu est plutôt omnivore. La martre mange aussi bien des petits animaux que des noix ou des fruits. Cependant, elle peut aussi chasser en groupe de plus gros animaux comme de jeunes cervidés. Le panda roux ne constitue pas une proie habituelle mais la martre est opportuniste. Elle peut donc chasser des jeunes pandas roux si l’occasion se présente.

On la rencontre sur une grande variété d’habitats, qui va de la zone himalayenne au sud de l’Indonésie, et jusqu’au nord de la péninsule coréenne. Elle peuple principalement les forêts.